Derek Carr

USA Today

Raiders Derek Carr and 49ers Joe Staley nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

All 32 NFL teams nominate a player for annual honor

Anna Kagarakis
November 14, 2017 - 9:45 am

The NFL announced the second annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominations. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, an award that recognizes NFL players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.   

Quarterback Derek Carr has been nominated for the Oakland Raiders, while left tackle, Joe Staley gets the nod for the San Francisco 49ers.

The winner is determined by a vote of current NFL players and will be announced at the nationally televised NFL Honors show the night before Super Bowl LII in Minnesota. The player will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice as well as a trophy that represents the importance of sportsmanship in the game.

Former 49ers RB Frank Gore won the award in 2016. The award was created in honor of the late Pittsburgh Steelers founding owner and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney. SR.


Comments ()